Introducing the PMI PgMP Certification

The PMI PgMP Program Management Professional Certification is an advanced level certification, which delivers proof of the practical experience and high level skills of the professional program managers. It is a very important and globally recognized certification and also demonstrates the proven competency of the individuals in program management for achieving strategic business goals. The PMI PgMP certification holders have leverage upon the other program managers because after getting this certification, they can validate all their skills related to different program managements. This certification is also in high demand by the various organizations and companies.

The Eligibility Overview for the PMI PgMP Certification

In order to get this advanced level of certification, the candidates must fulfill the below mentioned criteria:

  • A secondary degree (a high school diploma or an associate’s degree or the global equivalent). In addition to this a four years, i.e. 6,000 hour experience of project management with a seven years, i.e. 10,500 hour experience of program management is required for the candidates of this certification.


  • The second option for the candidates of PMI PgMP certification is that they must possess a four year Bachelor’s degree or global equivalent qualification. In addition to this, a four years, i.e. 6,000 experience of project management with a four years, i.e. 6,000 hour experience of program management is necessary.

The candidates are suggested to fulfill these eligibility criteria completely before applying for this certification. As this is an advanced level of certification so, high level experience is required.

Procedure for Applying And Preparation

Once the candidates have fulfilled all the required criteria, they can apply for this certification. In this regard, the candidates have two options i.e. either the candidates can apply online or through the post. The preferred method is the online method. The candidates can apply online by visiting the and can also download the study material and complete course outline for the PMI PgMP certification exam from The results and certification current status can also be checked online by using the same website. The online application can be completed with 90 days. The application is then reviewed in 10 days by the company. After the successful application, candidates are required to submit the exam fee. If the application is selected, then it is sent to the candidates for auditing and they have 90 days for auditing. This auditing is then reviewed by the panel. The candidates have one year period after their audit process and they have 3 chances in one year to pass the PMI PgMP certification exam.

Cost And Scheduling of the PMI PgMP certification exam

  1. The cost for the PMI members for Computer based testing is $ 1,500 and for Paper based test is $ 1,200.
  2. The cost for the PMI non-members for Computer based testing is $ 1,800 and for Paper based test is $ 1,500.

The scheduling of the PMI Certifications can be done by using the Prometric is the exclusive testing partner of PMI. This can be done online.

Details of the PMI PgMP certification exam

The PMI PgMP certification exam will consist of total 170 multiple choice questions out of which 150 are scoring and the rest of the 20 questions are pretest questions and not affect the scoring of the exam. And the allotted time period for PMI PgMP exams is 4 hours.