Certified Public Accountant or CPA is an accountant that needs to obtain official credentials and certain educational requirements. Each state has its own rules and regulation regarding becoming a CPA. According to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, in order to work as a CPA, a public accountant needs to obtain a license in the state of Florida. For those who wish to work as a CPA, to get the license, firstly you need to satisfy the exam eligibility requirements and then pass the test that is administered by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy.

A public accountant provides services to the individuals and businesses that are complex and requires a skilled professional. So, let’s take a look at the whole process to become a CPA:

Educational Requirement for Exam

A Florida accountant needs to have a bachelor’s degree from a university offering an authorized curriculum in accounting and a minimum of 120 hours in an accounting semester. Also, at least 24 semester units of advanced accounting classes that involves the study of Accounting info systems, Auditing, Financial, Cost or Managerial and Taxation. In addition with this, an accountant must have 12 hours of accounting courses to qualify for state license.

The upper division 24 hour business courses also includes 6 hours of business law in order to qualify to sit for the CPA exams. Students may even complete the additional 30 hour after the CPA exam.

There are 23 institutions in the Florida state that offer accounting programs. If a student hasn’t completed a degree program from an authorized institution, in certain situations, one may still qualify for the test, in case one have an alternative education in business. A number of such credits are required along with classes in computers, macroeconomics, business law and microeconomics.

The CPA Exam

Applicants need to submit official transcripts to prove their eligibility and those who have met the requirements must submit an application to Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation of Certified Public Accountancy.

The test comprises of 4 sections that can be completed on separate dates. In the state of Florida, an accountant has to pass all the four sections with a 75 percent or higher score. The applicant must submit the score within 36 hours.

Become a Licensed Florida CPA

In order to qualify for a license to practise as a CPA, you need to have a one year experience. The experience in the accounting industry can be obtained before taking the official test but must be under the direct supervision of a licensed accountant. Usually, this experience should be completed within two years time period, that means at least 20 hours a week of work in accounting.

However, the experience can’t begin before the completion of bachelor’s degree requirement for CPA exams. To meet the qualifications, the work experience may even complete in a government or academic setting.

Finally, the candidates who have met all the requirements and passed the CPA exams can apply for a CPA license to the state of Florida. If you are an out of state applicant, you can also become a Florida CPA but through state’s credit option. The out of state test results will also be accepted by the state’s licensing board, if the passing grade is 75% that is obtained on two parts of the exam.

Now, you have become a licensed CPA in the Florida state. Enrich your career by working in a credible CPA firm and acquire skill set and experience to go ahead!